LAHS lacrosse players win Sunset honors

First Team All-County player Allie Conrad was the Griffins' leading scorer this season with 82 goals.

After a highly successful season for both the boys’ and the girls’ varsity lacrosse teams, 19 Los Alamitos High School players were recognized for outstanding play.  A total of 19 players –11 boys and 8 girls –were honored with All-Sunset League selections.  In addition, five girls were also named to the All-County team.

The awards follow a season in which the boys’ varsity team won the Sunset League title for the fourth year in a row and the girls’ varsity team won the Orange County Championship and the Southern Section Division 1 Championship for the third year in row.  Honorees include:

Girls All-County 1st Team – Allie Conrad, Julie Crowell, Sophia Aragon,

Girls All-County 2nd Team – Melissa Hastie, Keaton Otake

Girls Sunset All-League 1st Team – Melissa Hastie, Allie Conrad, Sophia Aragon, Julie Crowell

Girls Sunset All-League 2nd Team – Keaton Otake, Torrey Bailey, Katrina Moretta

Girls Sunset All-League Honorable Mention – Lauren Actkinson

Boys Sunset All-League 1st Team – Mark Lowrimore, Sterling Hardy, Sean Parker, Ryan Actkinson

Boys Sunset All-League 2nd Team – Steve Brandenburg, Josh Duchon, Maxx Crowley, Luke Den Hartong

Boys Sunset All-League Honorable Mention – Ozzy Hyde, Willy Villegas, Mitch Dutton

In addition to the League and County awards, coaches of all six teams in the LAHS lacrosse program also recently announced several team awards.  They include:

Girls Varsity

MVP – Melissa Hastie

Offensive Player of the Year – Allie Conrad

Defensive Player of the Year – Sophia Aragon

Unsung Hero – Lauren Actkinson

Girls JV

MVP – Jennie Lange

Most Improved – Sydney Marmion

Coaches’ Award – Sara Leontis

Girls JV2

MVP – Jessica Hansen

Most Improved – Kellie Gugianna

Coaches Award – Stacy Saba

Boys Varsity

MVP – Sean Parker/Mark Lowrimore

Offensive Player of the Year – Steve Brandenburg

Defensive Player of the Year – Maxx Crowley

Rookie of the Year – Josh Duchon

Unsung Hero – Willie Villegas

Top Scholar Athlete – Dave Harris

Boys JV

MVP – Tyler Bailey

Coaches Award – Ryan Stewart

Boys Frosh/Soph

MVP – Tyler Miller

Coaches Award – Matt Bruno

For more information on the boys and girls lacrosse programs at Los Alamitos High School, please visit

Send your sports submissions to:

LAHS lacrosse players win Sunset honors