HomeLocal News
National Weather Service issues storm warning for California beaches Wed, Jan 18 2017 06:18 AM

Heavy rain and high surf predicted Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday [..]

More »

Seal Beach hires new Public Works director Tue, Jan 17 2017 05:57 PM

Steve Myrter has served Signal Hill for past six years [..]

More »

From Seal Beach to Rio Olympics: US women's water polo team wins gold Fri, Aug 19 2016 11:55 PM

Update: The USA Women’s Water Polo Team defeated Italy Friday, Aug. 19, winning the gold medal in the Rio Summer Olympics. The win marks the first time a women's water polo team has won the gold more than once. Seal Beach resident Rachel Fattal, 22, is a member of the U.S. team. For a profile of Seal Beach's gold medal Olympian, click on "Full story" below. [..]

More »

Jewett steps up when Los Alamitos Griffin softball pitchers go down Thu, Apr 21 2016 04:39 PM

Sophomore wins varsity debut with help from offensive [..]

More »

Politics/Local Government
Council to swear in new members Fri, Dec 09 2016 04:59 PM

Council will also elect new mayor and mayor pro tem [..]

More »

Bay Theatre meeting set for tonight at Senior Center Wed, Nov 09 2016 01:42 PM

Developer Paul Dunlap, will hold the first community outreach meeting on the future of the Bay Theartre at 7 p.m., tonight, Wednesday, Nov. 9, in the Senior Center at the Mary Wilson Library. [..]

More »

SBPD is investigating fatal car collision Sat, Dec 10 2016 09:57 AM

On Friday, Dec. 9, at approximately 1:40 p.m., a fatal traffic collision occurred in Seal Beach Westminster Avenue between Seal Beach Boulevard and Bolsa Chica Road. [..]

More »

Phil Gonshak is new commander of the Seal Beach Police Department Fri, Dec 09 2016 12:15 PM

Commander Gonshak, who will answer to the chief of police, brings 16 years of experience to his new position [..]

More »

Aunt Gertie at O'Malley's, Nov. 19 Sat, Nov 19 2016 11:21 AM

Aunt Gertie loves O'Malley's on Main [..]

More »

Music permit on city agenda, again Fri, Nov 11 2016 12:00 PM

Nov. 14 hearing to set fee [..]

More »

Crime Log: Emergency system test set for Sept. 24 Fri, Sep 18 2015 01:27 PM

On Thursday, Sept. 24 at 8:30 a.m., the City of Seal Beach will conduct a test of Orange County’s Regional Notification System - AlertOC. [..]

More »

Community bond with annual Fish Fry event stronger than rain Wed, Jul 22 2015 01:01 PM

Despite weather, participants enjoy iconic local tradition.

More »

Sun Newspapers | 216 Main Street, Seal Beach, CA 90740 | Phone: 562-430-7555 | Fax: 562-430-3469 | info@sunnews.org | Site Feedback | Corporate